teslastreammodel3

After a highly anticipated multi-step reservation process starting with Tesla and SpaceX employees, followed by in-store reservations, which created long queues at Tesla’s retail locations, and finally online reservations just an hour before the unveiling, Tesla finally launched the Model 3 – its first mass market electric vehicle.

CEO Elon Musk has been updating the public on the number of reservations the company is accumulating and here’s a quick timeline of those updates:

You can read our post summarizing everything new we learned at the Model 3 event here and our exclusive leaked specs of the unannounced higher-end version of the Model 3 here.

Below you will find the timeline with each update in chronological order with the most recent update on top and a comprehensive graph of the total reservation as updated by Tesla and Musk in the first 50 hours:

Workbook3 2016-04-03 18-00-03

07/04/16 – 7am PT – 10am ET: Tesla sent out a blog post confirming that they received ocer 325,000 Model 3 reservations during the first week

03/04/16 – 2pm PT – 5pm ET: On Sunday, Tesla’s CEO confirmed via Twitter that the automaker had 276,000 by the end of Saturday:

02/04/16 – 3pm PT – 6pm ET: On Saturday afternoon, Musk confirmed that Tesla had over 250,000 Model 3 reservation as of 7am PT this morning:

01/04/16 – 10pm PT – 1am ET: Musk updated the number again in the evening to 232,000 Model 3 reservations.

01/04/16 – 1pm PT – 4pm ET: Just over an hour later, Musk updated the number of reservation via Twitter again – now to 198,000 reservations:

01/04/16 – 12pm PT – 3pm ET: Elon Musk updates the number of reservation via Twitter to 180,000 after 24 hours of reservations:

31/03/16 – 11pm PT – 2am ET: Tesla kept a count of incoming reservations on a screen at the Model 3 event. Toward the end of the evening, Tesla had around 150,000 reservations.

31/03/16 – 9pm PT – 12am ET: After the end of his presentation, Elon Musk announced that Tesla already accumulated over 115,000 Model 3 reservations with deposits – those reservations were mostly sight-unseen.

FTC: We use income earning auto affiliate links. More.


Subscribe to Electrek on YouTube for exclusive videos and subscribe to the podcast.

You’re reading Electrek— experts who break news about Tesla, electric vehicles, and green energy, day after day. Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, and follow Electrek on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn to stay in the loop. Don’t know where to start? Check out our YouTube channel for the latest reviews.

About the Author