Update: we added a video of the app below.

A Twitter user going by supererogatory claims to have leaked the concept Faraday Future plans to reveal later today in Las Vegas. He claims that Faraday accidentally released an iOS app, which was meant for the release of the concept and includes renderings as well as some information about the vehicle, but was quickly pulled from the app store last night.

The story is plausible. The user even provided a link to the app store, which of course is dead since the app would have been pulled.

But it’s difficult to imagine this could actually be the car, unless the concept is only meant to showcase some of FF’s technology and isn’t nothing close to the final design the company is aiming to bring to market in 2017. Though with such a short timeline, most people were expecting the consumer car to be revealed at CES today, not a Batmobile-looking single-seater (or maybe two-seater, difficult to tell).

The alleged leak also reveals that the car is equipped with something called “Quad Core drive”, which presumably means the vehicle has 4 electric motors. The total power output is said to reach 1,000 horsepower.

The top speed would be “over 200 mph” and it claims a 0-60 mph acceleration in less than 3 seconds.

Like I said, we have some doubts about the veracity of the leak. We should know more tonight. We will be covering the event live, so make sure to tune in at 8PM PST – 11PM EST – 4AM UTC.

Update: The “leak” just gained some credibility. A video of the app allegedly released by mistake has been published to Youtube. It looks like it might actually be the real thing:

About the Author