model 3 cloaked wired

Tesla is still holding onto most details of its mysterious product announcement today, but CEO Elon Musk just confirmed that the news will go live at 5pm PT (8pm ET – 12am UTC) followed by a media Q&A.

We expect that the announcement will take the form of a blog post with media content.

Tesla is still tuning its announcement process. The last two announcements, for the v8.0 software updates and the P100D models, were fairly similar with a press conference and a blog post with media content, but it looks like it will be slightly different today.

Hopefully, it means that it’s a more significant announcement. We sure hope so considering all the hype around the event.

Anything short of a Vertical Take Off and Landing (VTOL) all-electric aircraft and I will be disappointed. All jokes aside, expectations are high.

It looks like Tesla investors also have high expectations for the event – stock up over 3%:

tsla-oct-19

Volumes went way up as soon as Musk confirmed the time of the unveiling was after market close.

Update: Elon Musk confirms ‘Tesla Model 3 part 2’ is today’s mysterious ‘product unveil’

Featured Image: Tesla Model 3 under cloak ahead of the original unveiling in March, 2016

FTC: We use income earning auto affiliate links. More.


Subscribe to Electrek on YouTube for exclusive videos and subscribe to the podcast.

You’re reading Electrek— experts who break news about Tesla, electric vehicles, and green energy, day after day. Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, and follow Electrek on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn to stay in the loop. Don’t know where to start? Check out our YouTube channel for the latest reviews.

About the Author