tesla autopilot

Today, Elon Musk apologized for the delay in releasing his blog post about the updated Autopilot under v8.0 citing “unusually difficult couple of weeks”, presumably due to SpaceX’s Falcon 9 anomaly on September 1, but now he sets the date for tomorrow afternoon:

The fact that he is holding a press conference before the release of the blog post is a good sign of the importance of the information that will be released.

Musk originally referred to the blog post being about “major improvements to Autopilot coming with V8.0 and 8.1 software (std OTA update) primarily through advanced processing of radar signals“.

We already revealed a lot of information about the upcoming Autopilot under v8.0 of Tesla OS, including the new off-ramp and interchange capability, improved Autosteer and TACC in traffic, and the new safety restrictions after recent accidents, but there’s still room for a few surprises and more information about the Autopilot beyond v8.0. Autopilot 2.0 anyone?

The last time Tesla held a press conference was for the release of the Model S and X P100D with the new 100 kWh battery pack.

Now Musk says that he will hold a press conference tomorrow (September 11) at 11am PDT (2pm EDT) and that the full blog post will go live on Tesla at 12pm PDT (3pm EDT). We should be able to report on Musk’s comments right after the blog post will go live.

FTC: We use income earning auto affiliate links. More.


Subscribe to Electrek on YouTube for exclusive videos and subscribe to the podcast.

You’re reading Electrek— experts who break news about Tesla, electric vehicles, and green energy, day after day. Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, and follow Electrek on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn to stay in the loop. Don’t know where to start? Check out our YouTube channel for the latest reviews.

About the Author