Porsche Taycan selected as Formula E safety car for season 8

by Jo Borrás

The ABB FIA Formula E World Championship has selected the all-electric Porsche Taycan as its official Safety Car for season 8.

The new SC is set to make its formal debut at the opening round of the Formula E season later this month in Diriyah, Saudi Arabia.

2021 was a big year for the Porsche Taycan.

As the first-ever all-electric Porsche, expectations were high, of course.

But even the most optimistic product planners within Porsche couldn’t have predicted the e-mobility revolution’s acceleration under COVID.

“Formula E is delighted the Porsche Taycan Turbo S will serve as the championship’s Safety Car from Season 8,” says Jamie Reigle, CEO of Formula E.

“The Porsche Taycan Turbo S is the pinnacle of high performance electrified vehicles and will light up Formula E city racetracks around the world.”